An Irishman named Bartholomew Bull first settled Regal Heights in 1818. He built Davenport Road, which was originally called ‘Bull’s Road’. He built a house in 1830 and called it ‘Springmount’. It was the first brick building in York Township, and therefore was considered to be a novelty. It remained in the Bull family until 1910 when it was sold to developers. However, the Springmount name still lives in Springmount Avenue, one of the main streets in Regal Heights.
There is a large Italian district on St Clair Avenue, which has plenty of cafes, restaurants and bistros, along with service shops, boutique clothing shops and specialty food stores. The area is called ‘Corso Italia Shopping District’ and is well known for the many movies that have been filmed in the area.
For recreational needs, there is Hillcrest Park at Davenport and Christie, which has many facilities, including tennis courts, a playground and a wading pool, not to mention the breathtaking view of Toronto’s skyline and Lake Ontario. There is also the popular Earlscourt Park on St Clair. It is 36 acres large and has tennis courts, soccer fields, a baseball diamond, and an ice rink. Right beside the park is the Joseph J Piccininni Community Centre, which also has a soccer field, a pool, a gym and a senior’s lounge. As well, there is the Dufferin/St Clair Library, which has the largest collection of Italian books in Toronto.
Regal Road Junior Public School
Oakwood Collegiate Institute
McMurrich Junior Public School
Winona Drive Senior Public School
St Clair Avenue to the north
Oakwood Avenue to the east
Davenport Road to the south
Dufferin Street to the west
Photos from Regal Heights: